Iceland’s Hot Dog

I’m not particularly a hot dog fan. I know, I know, people think I’m crazy.

When I was preparing for my trip to Iceland I looked at a lot of links about what to eat (obviously). And while there were weird items (fermented shark, fin whale, and puffin) I could not get over how often I read about their “traditional” hot dogs. What could possibly be so special about these hot dogs.

Like many hot dogs you’ve encountered, they’re made from pork and beef but the kicker is the Icelandic lamb meat. It’s a great combination of grass-fed, free-range, organic meats and the toppings bring it up another level. Underneath the hot dogs are crispy fried onions and it’s topped with sweet mustard and Icelandic ketchup. Is your mouth watering yet? Check out more about the Icelandic hot dog here.

IMG_3155.JPG

I had three while I was there. THREE. As someone who hasn’t touched a hot dog since I was probably 6 years old, that’s a huge deal. If you’ve ever seen Anthony Bordain’s show, “No Reservations” he visited the same hot dog stand I did, Baejarins Beztu Pylsur.  

If you find yourself in Iceland, I suggest trying these hot dogs. My next post will talk more about a few of the other more traditional (and weird) foods I tried.

5 Comments Add yours

  1. Alicia says:

    Yes, my mouth is totally watering. And I just had lunch. Doesn’t matter.

    Like

  2. kristenbuehler11 says:

    I’ve been dying to go to Iceland! Just another reason to plan a trip if these hotdogs are as amazing as you say!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. mrchuehyi says:

    I should have not read this at 12:50 am. I want that hot dog now.

    Like

  4. Sandy Liu says:

    After reading your post, I really want to try Icelandic hotdogs. I am also not a hotdog fan. But I like Nathan’s hotdogs. I usually get them in the airport and they taste pretty good.

    Like

Leave a Reply

