Cooking with ‘Shrooms

It may surprise you that I grew up a fussy eater. I meant really fussy. Chicken tenders, French fries, rice, bread and butter…maybe some green beans (but only if my Gramma made them!), and that was about it. Slowly but surely, I began to venture out and by the age of 18 I started eating everything except sushi* and mayonnaise,** and that’s where I still am today.

Because I missed out 18 ENTIRE years with some things, I find myself trying to use a lot of the foods I never liked when I cook. For example, mushrooms. Mushrooms were always icky to me – and I’m not sure why. They smell great when being prepared and I found later in life that they taste just as great. I’ve cooked them a few times, but always from a recipe. Today I just had a craving and decided to improvise.

I decided to make pasta in a brown butter mushroom sauce. YUM! Here’s how I did it:

  • 1 lb of pasta (I used farfalle)
  • 6+/- tablespoons of butter
  • 7 cloves of garlic, minced (buy a garlic mincer – it’s lifechanging!)
  • 1 pack of cremini mushrooms, sliced
  • teaspoon of dried basil
  • Salt/pepper to taste
  • 2 tablespoons of olive oil
  • Parsley, fresh or dried
  • Parmesean cheese, grated

So, super easy recipe:

Preparation:

  • Mince the garlic
  • Wash and slice the mushrooms
  • Grate the cheese
  • Cook the pasta (boil water and let it cook for 10-12 minutes) and set aside

and begin…

  • Melt 2 tablespoons of butter on medium low heat
  • Add garlic and allow to brown, not burn (2-3 minutes)
  • Add mushrooms, salt, pepper, and basil
  • Stir and let mushrooms get just tender (3 minutes)
  • Add the rest of the butter and olive oil
  • Cook, while stirring, 2 minutes
  • Remove from heat and add parsley and cooked pasta
  • Add cheese to garnish

Let me tell you, I just had a big bowl of this for lunch and I am satisfied. Let me know if you try it, or if you have any suggestions for more dishes cooking with ‘shrooms.

blog4pic2.png

 

Cheers!

 

*I know it’s great, I’ll try it one day!
**because mayonnaise is disgusting

 

2 Comments Add yours

  1. This recipe looks delicious and super easy! I can’t wait to try it.

    Like

  2. Alicia says:

    I am pretty sure you can never go wrong with mushrooms. Well, and butter. I am definitely trying this.

    Like

Leave a Reply

