Chickpea Curry

Alright,

My school project for this blog is over…but I just realized that all of the really good recipes I’ve made over the last few months is on this blog. So I guess it’s not a big deal if people still read it…but it’s a great recipe record (although I hope you all keep reading!). One thing I learned is that I did not use enough pictures so I’ll try to be better if I keep this up…

I’ve had a stressful week – even with classes ending and I REALLY wanted to cook tonight to decompress…I know, I’m weird.

I normally put chickpeas in my salad but I’m completely out of spinach sooo…inspired by my vegan roommate who eats so much curry, I gave it a try!

I got my basic recipe from this link, but I made a lot of customizations so I’m going to give it to you step by step here (plus I’m cooking for one, so I made MUCH less):

Ingredients:

  • 1/2 cup of basmati brown rice (prepared from package instructions)
  • 1 teaspoon of vegetable oil
  • 1 teaspoon of butter
  • 1/2 a large white onion, chopped (I get pre-chopped and used a little more than 1/4 the package)
  • Salt and pepper
  • 2 tablespoons curry powder
  • 1 tablespoon cumin
  • 1 tablespoon ginger
  • 2 cloves of garlic, minced
  • 1/2 cup of chicken stock
  • 1 can of chickpeas (drained and rinsed)
  • 2 tablespoons of mild salsa
  • 3/4 cup of coconut milk (I used the boxed kind, but the condensed can works too – just use a 1/2 cup)
  • 1 1/2 tablespoons of honey or raw honey
  • 1 tablespoon of Siracha

Keep in mind I taste as I go, so if you’re cooking and tasting and think it needs more of something, DO IT! Always, do it but be careful with spice 🙂

Directions:

  • Make the rice and set aside

Rice done!

  • Heat the oil and butter in a medium sized pan on medium-low until butter is melted
  • Add the onions and salt pepper to taste – cook for about 15 minutes, letting the onions brown thoroughly but not burn
  • Stir in the curry powder, cumin, ginger, and garlic, and cook for 30 seconds to 1 minute
  • Add the chicken stock and scrap the bottom for all of the brown bits
  • Add the chickpeas, coconut milk, honey, salsa, and siracha. Stir until combined and then bring it to a rapid boil

curry1

  • Reduce heat and let it simmer for 7-10 minutes, stirring and tasting occasionally for your preferred consistency and flavor

Serve over rice and garnish with fresh cilantro. ENJOY 🙂

CurryDone
The finished product

**EDIT: if you do make it too spicy, add some lime juice on top and it evens out the spice 🙂

 

 

3 Comments Add yours

  1. looks absolutely fab!! great photography – and great way to decompress!! 🙂

    Like

    1. Thank so much! I know some people think cooking can be stressful but when I get home it’s the best thing for me. Let me know if you try this out!

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

