Ballin’ on a Budget: Homemade Chinese Delivery

When I don’t know what I want to eat, it’s really simple actually: I want Chinese food. I’ve learned it always makes me happy, and I’m always satisfied. The downfall? If I don’t want to leave my house (read: always the case) and my favorite delivery has a $20 minimum (read: sigh), that can break my bank REAL fast.

I’ve tried to perfect fried rice, and I’m still working on it (recipe to come…some day), but practice makes perfect.

I decided to try cauliflower rice from Trader Joe’s instead of actual rice for my fried rice, and I purchased Trader Joe’s soup dumplings because……yum (ps – if you don’t know what soup dumplings are, read here, and try them ASAP).

soupdumplings

Here is my recipe for at home, budget friendly, Chinese food:

Supplies

  • 1 tablespoon olive oil
  • 1 cup cauliflower rice
  • 1 cup frozen peas and carrots
  • 1/4 cup onion, chopped
  • 1 egg, scrambled
  • 2 tablespoons of garlic, minced
  • 1/2 cup soy sauce
  • 1 tablespoon of ground ginger
  • 1 tablespoon rice vinegar
  • 1 teaspoon sesame oil
  • salt/pepper/red pepper to taste

Directions

  • Heat olive oil in a pan
  • Throw in onion and garlic and let cook until fragrant (about 1 minute)
  • Add peas, carrots and stir until heated through
  • Add cauliflower and ginger, stir well
  • Add soy sauce and rice vinegar, let simmer and stir regularly
  • Create a space in the middle and add the egg. Stir frequently until cooked and then stir into the rest of the mixture
  • Add the sesame oil and spices to taste
  • Remove from heat and enjoy

Make the soup dumplings like the box directions and enjoy; cheap and easy Chinese “delivery” food.

Leave a Reply

