A Craving is Craving…Even a Healthy Craving

On my way back to Boston from San Diego I had a short layover in the Minneapolis St. Paul airport. It seems random, but actually this terminal is small and delightful with plenty of food options.

Being alone, I decided to opt for a flatbread to go option and take it to my gate and relax before the flight. One of the options for flatbreads was “Vegetarian – zucchini, mushroom, ricotta, and basil flatbread.” That sounded amazing, but they were ALL OUT OF IT! I settled for a great margherita flatbread but then I got to thinking….

I could make that veggie flatbread myself, my way! So I did:

To buy:

TJGFCrust

  • 1 Trader Joes GF pizza crust (any crust will work – I’d wanted to try their cauliflower crust, but they were sold out. I also like how these are small pizza crusts so good for a quick lunch and easy to save if I don’t want the whole thing.)
  • Olive oil
  • Salt
  • Pepper
  • Tuscan seasoning
  • Garlic powder
  • 1 zucchini; sliced
  • 1/2 yellow onion; chopped
  • 1/2 yellow bell pepper; cut into strips
  • 1/4 container of part-skim ricotta
  • Fresh basil

Directions:

  • Follow the directions on the back of the GF pizza crust – brush with Olive oil, sprinkle some salt, pepper, and Tuscan seasonings on the crust
  • Cook the chopped onion in a some olive oil on the stove. This is an optional step but I like my onions a little browned.
  • In a separate bowl place about a 1/4 of a container of the part-skim ricotta. Combine with a dash of olive oil, salt, and garlic powder.

RicottaYUM

  • Place all the ingredients on the pizza.
  • Bake 12-13 minutes (or just until the crust is at your preferred crispiness)
  • Remove from oven and let sit for a few minutes.
  • Garnish with fresh basil and cut into slices.

I made this twice this week – enjoy!

 

4 Comments Add yours

  1. This looks delicious! I always respect my cravings, it helps me to feel content 😊

    Like

    1. I know right? I say listen to the cravings!

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

