“Meatballs”

Alright, I have a big trip planned next weekend in the warmest of weather and so I need to look my best. That means this week is low in carbs and high in vegetables!

I had all that leftover zucchini and ricotta from my gf vegetarian pizza this week, and I thought…what the heck can I make with these? “MEATBALLS” – or more specifically, zucchini meatballs 🙂 I got my inspiration from this recipethis recipe on an awesome blog I follow, but I made a few alterations that I want to share with you.

You’ll need (and remember I cook for one, and usually have leftovers):

  • 1/2 zucchini
  • 1/2 yellow onion
  • 3 cloves garlic, minced
  • 1/4 – 1/2 cup Italian bread crumbs (you can also pulse almonds finely in a food processor to make this GF)
  • 1 egg
  • 2 tablespoons finely chopped basil
  • 1 tablespoon garlic powder
  • 1/2 cup part-skim ricotta
  • Salt/pepper to taste
  • 1 tablespoon crushed red pepper (optional)
  • Coconut oil (you can use whatever cooking oil you’d like, I’ve been really into this stuff recently)
  • Basil to garnish
  • Red sauce of your choice (I used to Trader Joes Creamy Tomato Basil Sauce)

Directions:

  • Pulse the zucchini, garlic, and onion in a food processor, then use cheese cloth or paper towels to drain as much of the extra water as possible and set aside.

zucchini&onionminced

  • Combine the ricotta, egg, breadcrumbs (or almonds), basil, garlic powder, salt, pepper, and crushed red pepper. Stir to combine.
  • Stir in the zucchini/onion mixture and continue to add bread crumbs or ground almonds until you get the correct consistency. These will always be much softer than traditional meatballs, but you still want them to stick together on their own and hold their ball shape.

zmeatballsuncooked

  • Pre-heat your oven to 350 degrees and spray a baking dish with non-stick spray
  • In a pan, add the coconut (or whatever cooking oil you like) and heat on med-high heat. Place each “meatball” and cook on each side for 2-3 minutes until a nice brown.

zmeatballscooked

  • Once satisfied, transfer to the baking dish and bake for 5 minutes on both sides (10 minutes total).
  • Remove from oven and put back into original pan with the tomato sauce. Mix the meatballs in with the sauce and serve over pasta, zoodles, or eat just by themselves. Garnish with any cheese of your choice and fresh basil!

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

